First bake: peanut butter brownies

Peanut butter brownies

I wasn’t intending to make two brownie recipes in a row, but I wanted to whip up something new fairly quickly yesterday to ensure we had sweet treats on hand for a lazy day of watching films. I spotted this in my recipe folder and (surprisingly for indecisive me) made an instant decision to bake some peanut brownies.

As with pretty much every single brownie recipe I’ve ever tried, these were really quick and easy to make. The joy of making brownies is that to get the required firm-crust-soft-inside consistency, it’s pretty much compulsory to just chuck everything in, stir only a little, and then empty the mix into the tin and bake for just 30-40 minutes, depending on the recipe.

This particular recipe includes a very small amount of faffing in that you need to melt some of the ingredients first and then melt a little of the peanut butter and chocolate separately to decorate the brownies at different stages of the baking process. But even all of that is incredibly straightforward if you can melt the decorative peanut butter and chocolate in the microwave instead of on the hob.

Pre-oven peanut butter brownies in the tin

Pre-oven peanut butter brownies in the tin, with melted peanut butter on top

The only sticking point was that with the recipe requiring the eggs to be mixed in straight after melting the ingredients, I had to get my boyfriend to do the mixing very quickly for me while I cracked the eggs in to make sure we didn’t end up with a disgusting scrambled egg concoction in the warm mix. That turned out fine as well, so if you do try this recipe I would recommend remembering to either let the mixture cool a little before you add the eggs, or to make sure you’ve got your eggs and flour ready to be quickly stirred in so you can stick them straight into the hot pan without ending up with a brownie disaster.

I put these in a gas oven for a little longer than 35 minutes, as I was also baking some rolls for lunch (not from scratch!) and had to move the brownies to the bottom shelf for a bit. If they’d stayed on the top shelf they would have been fine to remove after 30 mins, I think.

So, how do they taste? Extremely good! I’m a huge fan of the peanut-chocolate combination and the balance of salty nuttiness, dense chocolate and sweet brown sugar is spot on for me. The crust is pretty solid and the inside is perfect – not too gooey but not too dry. I used a 50/50 mixture of standard dark chocolate (Co-op Fairtrade with 48% minimum cocoa solids) and something more intense (Co-op Truly Irresistible, 85% cocoa solids). I decorated with the former to save the big cocoa hit for the cake itself, and I think this worked well.

Peanut butter brownies

The recipe

Happily for my lazy fingers there’s no need to copy this out of a book; the recipe is on the BBC Good Food website here: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1272634/peanut-butter-brownies

One thought on “First bake: peanut butter brownies

  1. Pingback: Recipes from around the web | The Very Hungry Baker

Leave a Reply

