First bake: olive muffins

Olive muffins

Olive muffins - fresh out of the oven

I’ve been meaning to bake these muffins for a while. I copied the recipe out of Madhur Jaffrey’s World Vegetarian Cookbook, which belongs to my boyfriend, and then baked everything under the sun except these! I had to have a painful tooth out yesterday and need to stick to fairly soft foods for the moment, so I thought I’d give these a go for my tea tonight.

I do like a nice savoury muffin – I’ve probably mentioned my passion for Dan Lepard’s courgette and mozzarella muffins before. These olive muffins really appealed to me because I absolutely adore olives, so how on earth could I go wrong with this recipe?

Quite easily, as it happens. I managed to somehow miss out the addition of the spring onions to the dough when I wrote down the recipe, so even though I’d carefully sauteed them and set them aside to cool, I completely forgot to add them to the dough along with the olives and mint (I blame the painkillers I’ve been downing every 4 hours since Thursday). I ended up having to take the muffins out of the oven after 10 minutes to hurriedly sprinkle the onions on top, hoping it wouldn’t make much of a difference either way.

Olive muffin

The inside of an olive muffin

Unfortunately, it did. The muffins do taste of olives and mint when you get some in a mouthful, but the spring onions really do bring it together – so it’s a shame they’re all perilously perched on top of the muffins rather than being embedded inside! Without the spring onions, the muffins are a little plain. The recipe calls for non-salty olives, but I think these would be so much better with salty olives like the kalamata variety (which happens to be my favourite), or some intense, juicy green olives.

The texture of the muffins is a little bit more bread-like than the courgette and mozzarella muffins, which is probably down to the lack of eggs, minimal amount of oil and addition of water to the dough – which also has to be briefly kneaded in a similar way to bread dough. I quite like this texture, though, as it makes the muffins seem more substantial.

I will definitely make these again soon, and will remember to add the spring onions *before* the muffins go in the oven. I have a feeling it really will elevate them to must-eat status! I might also try adding feta cheese and/or sundried tomatoes, as I reckon these flavours will work perfectly with the recipe.

Olive muffin

 

3 thoughts on “First bake: olive muffins

  1. Pingback: Re-bake: olive muffins | The Very Hungry Baker

Leave a Reply

