First bake: dark chocolate and cherry cookies

Dark chocolate and cherry cookies

I had a sudden urge to bake something with dark chocolate and cherries in it today (a very specific urge, I know, but that makes a nice change from my usual indecisiveness!). So I had a quick look on Google and came across a recipe for dark chocolate and cherry cookies that looked quick, easy and delicious.

Dark chocolate and cherry cookie mix

Dark chocolate and cherry cookie mix

I did make a slight change to the recipe I found – I wanted another excuse to use my fancy cocoa powder, so I added about 20g to the mix to turn the cookies a wonderful deep, er, chocolate colour. Unfortunately, that means the chopped glace cherries aren’t very visible, so they just look like plain chocolate cookies!

Dark chocolate and cherry cookies, pre-baking

Dark chocolate and cherry cookies, pre-baking

The cookies are indeed extremely chocolatey – you do get the odd cherry tang every other bite or so, but they’re very much one for chocoholics! I think the cookies could also have done with being flattened a bit more on the tray, or being baked for a few minutes longer, as they’re a little softer in the middle than I would have liked, but that’s just a minor quibble really. One to make again!

The recipe

From the Turquoise Lemons blog here – http://www.turquoiselemons.com/2/post/2012/08/cherry-and-dark-chocolate-cookies.html

Leave a Reply

