50th post giveaway!

50

Yep, this is the 50th post on this blog since starting it up back in February!

To celebrate, I’m giving away a copy of one of my favourite baking books – BBC Good Food’s 101 Cakes & Bakes. If you’re a regular reader, you’ll know just how much I love this book and its easy yet delicious recipes!

To be in with a chance of winning, all you have to do is leave a comment below telling me which of the bakes on this blog is your favourite – and why. The answer I like best will nab the book. And no, you won’t automatically win by picking *my* favourite cake

I’ll make a decision next Tuesday evening (October 9th)  and will announce the winner in a post then.

Good luck!

14 thoughts on “50th post giveaway!

  1. I’m a big fan of spiced cakes, so I’m torn between the ginger sponge and the honey spiced cake – I think I’d most like to try the honey one though. Congratulations on 50 posts! That’s a lot of baking. 🙂

  2. Hey, i love cakes and my favourite is chocolate ganache cake… i think i took the recipe from one of Nigellas cookbooks. I modified it into cupcake size – which was awesome!!! we also tried doing the cinammon and nutella cake. It looked delicious on your pictures so we though – hey ho we got to try it. (https://theveryhungrybaker.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/re-bake-cinnamon-nutella-cake/) It was fun, it tasted great, unfortunately when we took it to the recent MacMillans coffee and cake day at our local childrens centre, mums thought that sunken nutella was just a bit of burned cake – that is until they actually tried it. So for a laugh we said it was cinnamon surprise cake 🙂 . And no there was not a single mother that day that would know how to stop nutella from sinking i’m afraid.
    Keep it up – great ideas!!!!

  3. Pingback: First bake: butterscotch bars | The Very Hungry Baker

  4. Great blog – I’m impressed with the 50 bakes! My favourite recipe on this blog has to be the cinnamon Nutella cake. As autumn has started, it’s the perfect time of the year for baking with spices and nuts. They always strike me as autumnal ingredients. I’ve friends staying for the weekend so I’m going to bake the cake. Looking forward to it!

  5. Congratulations on 50 posts! Makes me want to start writing a food blog as I love baking, cooking and, most of all, eating! I think my favourite of your bakes is the peanut butter brownies – two of my favourite things combined into a delicious cake.

    • Yes, definitely! Especially as you can only just about taste the cherries in the recipe I tried – so adding some cherrylicious booze should help on this front.

      You want to make sure the cherries aren’t so moist that they make the cookies fall apart, though – try to squeeze/pat out any excess booze.

      Although you could always eat them from a bowl with a spoon if the worst happens!

  6. Enjoying your blog, Dipika! I’ve always loved the raspberry/almond combination in a Bakewell Tart, so my favourite recipe was the Cherry Bakewell cake because it takes this old classic that we all remember from childhood and reinvents it in a modern, lighter, fresher way, without pastry, and with fresh cherries. It’s a winner for me!

  7. Ooh the White chocolate, cherry and coconut cookies – all my favourite things! Also simple to make, which is always a bonus.

  8. Hello! Hope I’m not too late – mango, banana and coconut cake is my favourite – I have bookmarked and will try at the weekend (although may be too late for the mangoes). It’s my favourite because I love shoehorning my 5 a day into a cake, it makes me feel almost virtuous (ok, not sure what the actual health benefits are…!) My OH made melon cake last weekend, it was lovely!

  9. Pingback: And the winner is… | The Very Hungry Baker

Leave a Reply

