Re-bake: lemon drizzle cake

Lemon drizzle cakeI’ve talked before about how I love a good classic cake. As well as my all-time favourite, madeira cake, one bake that’s pretty much at the top of my list is lemon drizzle cake.

Who can resist the combination of lots of sweet sugar and tangy lemon, all in a buttery cake topped with more juice and sugar in a crunchy crust? My friend Mrs Hicks also loves this cake with a passion, so I decided to make it as a birthday present last week.

I’ve made this recipe a few times before, but the last time I made it, it didn’t cook at all in the middle and I was left with a soggy, eggy mess. This time, I was very careful with my mixing and made absolutely sure the oven stayed at the right temperature. When I put the skewer in and there was still a bit of mix clinging to it, I quickly shoved it back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes.

I was very grateful when it didn’t sink after I took it out of the oven, and did an extra test after it had cooled the next day by partially slicing it from the bottom to make doubly sure it was all cooked inside. Of course, the ultimate test was whether my friend would be presented with a decent cake or the aforementioned soggy mess when she cut into it properly, and as you can tell from the picture, it was definitely the former!

I can’t comment on the taste as I wanted to give the whole cake, but from the previous (successful) times that I’ve made it, it *should* be extremely lemony, nicely moist and perfectly sweet. I would recommend this as an afternoon tea cake, or perhaps a Mother’s Day or Easter bake. It really is lovely!

The recipe

On the BBC Good Food website here: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/4942/lemon-drizzle-cake

2 thoughts on “Re-bake: lemon drizzle cake

  1. Pingback: First bake: lemon buttermilk cake | The Very Hungry Baker

Leave a Reply

