First bake: lime and coconut biscuits

Lime and coconut biscuits

 

After finally using up all my mincemeat I was at a bit of a loss over what to bake next. I didn’t want to do anything too difficult or substantial, so I decided on this rather interesting recipe for lime and coconut biscuits that I found online a few months ago.

As you all know by now, I bloody love coconut. I also love lime, but usually only ever have it in cocktails! So I was quite intrigued by the combination of the two flavours.

The biscuits were very easy to make; I knocked them up on Sunday morning, having not had much sleep, and managed to not make any mistakes! (I know!) It was just a case of mixing everything together, topping with coconut, baking and icing.

Lime and coconut biscuit mix

Lime and coconut biscuit mix

I didn’t have any coconut shreds, whatever they may be, so I just topped the biscuits with extra dessicated coconut, making them look a bit like macaroons (not macarons). My icing was a bit on the watery side, but the lime flavour came through really strongly in spite of this.

Lime and coconut biscuitsThe biscuits tasted amazing – very coconutty and very, very limey. I think they could have done with longer in the oven than the recipe suggests, because they were quite big and weren’t quite as crunchy as I would have liked, so I would recommend leaving them in for around 10 minutes longer if yours come out large too.

The recipe

On Eggrecipes.co.uk here: http://www.eggrecipes.co.uk/recipes/view/lime-and-coconut-crunchy-biscuits

Leave a comment