Re-bake: Victoria sponge

Victoria spongeAs you all know by now, I’m a big fan of traditional British cakes – and I especially love a good Victoria sponge, particularly for celebrations! The combination of soft sponge, decadent buttercream and sweet jam really is perfect for a special occasion. If you can’t tell from the picture above, my special occasion was finally completing on my first ever house purchase on Friday!

I’ve made this recipe from BBC Good Food (of course) a lot, but I seem to have been slightly jinxed with it recently. The last time I made this it looked pretty ridiculous due to a weird rise, but still tasted fine. This time, my first go at the sponge was a complete disaster – after it had been in the oven for a while I realised the tin was leaking liquid all over the oven bottom, because while the top of the cake had cooked, the middle really hadn’t!

Victoria sponge cakes

Victoria sponge buttercream

Buttercream… yum!

Needless to say I decided to try again straight away, and luckily it worked a charm. Making the cake is a doddle (well, most times, obviously) – throw everything in a bowl and mix. And that’s it. Then it’s just a case of making the buttercream and layering everything together.

The recipe calls for an entire jar of jam. You really don’t need that much. I think I used 3 or 4 generous tablespoons, and that was plenty. The buttercream quantity, however, is spot on. Do make sure you sift the icing sugar, otherwise it’ll go extremely lumpy.

Victoria spongeVictoria sponge

As you can see, I went for a house theme for my cake by creating a house template from an old Christmas card, placing it on the top of the cake and sifting some more icing sugar over. I think it worked pretty well! And, of course, the cake itself was absolutely delicious! I’ll have to make the most of it, as I probably won’t be able to bake again for a couple of weeks due to some frantic packing before I actually move in a week or so…

The recipe

From the BBC Good Food website here: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1997/classic-victoria-sandwich

One thought on “Re-bake: Victoria sponge

  1. Pingback: Housewarming afternoon tea | The Very Hungry Baker

Leave a Reply

