First bake: feta and courgette muffins

Feta and courgette muffinsOne of my favourite savoury bakes EVER is Dan Lepard’s courgette and mozzarella muffins, which are absolutely delicious and ridiculously easy to make. I had a hankering the other day to make something savoury while experimenting a little, so I decided to draw inspiration from both Mr Lepard and my penchant for Greek flavours.

I used this recipe as a jumping-off point, and added a few more ingredients – sundried tomatoes, red onion, parsley and paprika. I nearly added some black olives but decided not to in case it ws overkill, but I think I’ll add them next time, just because I do love a good olive!

Feta and courgette muffin mix

Feta and courgette muffin mix

The result was a lovely batch of soft, flavoursome muffins with a hint of spice. This being me, I would definitely add more paprika and maybe a generous amount of dried chilli flakes a la Dan Lepard, too, as I like a bit of a stronger kick. Otherwise, I would say my little experiment was a big success!

Feta and courgette muffins

The recipe

This is pretty much what I did, but with a few additions to ramp it up a bit!

Makes 12 muffins

  • 250g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 115 ml olive oil
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 175g grated courgette (about 1 large courgette)
  • 115g crumbled feta cheese (I used Greek-style salad cheese)
  • 2-3 sundried tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1 handful chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • half a red onion, finely chopped
  • 7-8 pitted black olives, sliced
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp dried chilli flakes
  1. Preheat oven to 175°C/gas mark 4 and place paper muffin cases in a 12-hole muffin tray.
  2. Mix the flour, baking powder, salt, paprika and chilli flakes in a bowl. Set aside.
  3. Beat the eggs and oil in another bowl until smooth.
  4. Stir the courgettes, feta, onion, sundried tomatoes, olives and parsley into the oil mix.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet mix and stir until just combined.
  6. Spoon into the muffin cases and bake for 20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack before eating.
Leave a Reply

