A cake I didn’t make + some news

The chocolatiest birthday cake in the world
It’s been a while, hasn’t it? And then I come back with a post about something I didn’t even bake. Sorry. But it’s been a pretty amazing few weeks!

I’ve been fairly busy balancing my (relatively) new job with freelancing on the side, plus I was trying veeerrry hard to be healthy and lose a few pounds ahead of a holiday in the Lake District, so I haven’t really baked much. And then I went on holiday, ate all the food and just so happened to get engaged, which I’m extremely ecstatic about!

It was also my birthday a few days ago, so my boyfriend fiancé made the most fantastic cake to stop me making my own: The Chocolatiest Cake In The World.

The chocolatiest birthday cake in the world
This beauty of a cake is basically the sponge from Felicity Cloake’s perfect chocolate cake recipe sandwiched with chocolate buttercream and covered with ALL the chocolate. I believe there are Galaxy Minstrels, Galaxy Counters and Galaxy Caramel buttons plus chopped up Crunchie, Galaxy Caramel and Double Decker bars on top. AND melted chocolate to finish.

Words cannot describe how good this cake is. It’s so very, very chocolatey! Unfortunately, the richness of the cake means I can only eat it a slice at a time without getting way too full. Fortunately, this means the cake is going to last me a while! Unfortunately, I need to get healthy again after it’s gone.

The chocolatiest birthday cake in the world
Hopefully it won’t be too long before I get back into the swing of baking and blogging. Please don’t expect anything too decadent for my next post, though…!

2 thoughts on “A cake I didn’t make + some news

Leave a Reply

