Strawberry yoghurt cake with lemon drizzle icing

Strawberry yogurt cake with lemon drizzle icing
This is my first post about something I’ve baked in well over a month… crazy! I got back on to the baking wagon in fine style the other week with this strawberry yoghurt cake with lemon drizzle icing, which I decided to make thanks to some leftover strawberries that were practically begging me to bake with them.

Strawberry yogurt cake with lemon drizzle icing

I decided to use this recipe because I’m a sucker for a cake recipe that has that something extra to create a lovely, rich texture – it was yoghurt in this case, but buttermilk and soured cream are just as fantastic. I made sure to use full-fat yoghurt here, as low-fat yoghurt lacks the richness that makes a cake truly special.

Strawberry yogurt cake with lemon drizzle icing

The cake was brilliantly easy to make, although I did have to leave it in the oven for a bit longer than the recipe said. I also added a little lemon zest to the cake mix to add some extra tang. And you can never have too much lemon!

Strawberry yogurt cake with lemon drizzle icing

The texture of this cake was BEAUTIFUL – soft, moist and oh so addictive. I’m slightly ashamed to say that two of us demolished the cake in just two days (although I only had a quarter of it!). We just couldn’t stop eating it.

I’d highly recommend making this cake if you want a teatime treat that makes the most of our wonderful British strawberries while they’re in season. You won’t regret it!

The recipe

Can be found on Cider With Rosie here: http://www.ciderwithrosie.com/2014/05/fresh-strawberry-yoghurt-cake-with-lemon-glaze/

3 thoughts on “Strawberry yoghurt cake with lemon drizzle icing

  1. Looks soo good, wow.
    I wonder if substituting the strawberries for mango and the lemon juice for orange would work just as well? I think I’ll stick to the actual recipe this time around, though. Just in case.

Leave a Reply

